Beograd - Belgrade

Belgrade is the capital and largest city of Serbia. The first human settlements on the territory of the wider Belgrade area date from prehistoric Vinca, 4800 BC. Belgrade itself was founded by the Celts in the 3rd century BC., before becoming the Roman settlement of Singidunum. The Slavic name "Beligrad" was first recorded in 878 year. Belgrade is the capital of Serbia since 1405th and was the capital of various of South Slavic states.

The city lies at the confluence of the Sava and the Danube rivers in central Serbia, where the Pannonian Plain meets the Balkan Peninsula. The largest city in the territory of the former Yugoslavia and the fourth largest city by population in Southeastern Europe, after Istanbul, Athens and Bucharest.

Belgrade has the status of a separate territorial unit in Serbia, with its own local government. Its territory is divided into 17 municipalities, each with its own local government. Belgrade is taking more than 3.6% of the territory of the Republic of Serbia, and is home to 21% of the citizens of the Republic of Serbia. Belgrade is also the economic center of Serbia, and the capital of Serbian culture, education and science.